Friday, January 17, 2014

University of Vienna

The University of Vienna, a public university, was founded by Duke Rudolph IV in 1365 and is the oldest university in the German-speaking world and the third oldest university in Central Europe. Currently about 92.000 students are enrolled at the University of Vienna, they can select from 187 degree programmes. The University of Vienna does not have one joint campus, the academic facilities occupy more than sixty locations throughout the city. The main building (in this photo) in Ringstrasse constitutes the university's centre. It was designed by Austrian architect Heinrich von Ferstel and opened in 1884.

1 comment: